NATA Entrance Exam 2018:

National Aptitude Test in Architecture (NATA) is a national level examination for undergraduate courses in Architecture at all recognised institutions across India. It is held by the National Institute of Advanced Studies in Architecture (NIASA), which has been holding the test for more than a decade now and is a part of Council of Architecture (CoA) in New Delhi.

As per Architectural Education Regulations, it is obligatory for aspirants to qualify in this test for securing admissions in B.Arch. courses in different Indian institutes. According to the CoA, this separate aptitude test is conducted to distinguish Architecture from other fields such as Engineering, Medicine, etc. Thus, the Council of Architecture holds National Aptitude Test in Architecture to provide candidates with a window to qualify for the best Architecture Institutions across India by way of appearing in a single aptitude test.

Important details about the NATA

  • Qualification

The Candidates must have the following qualifications to be eligible for NATA:

  • 10+2 or equivalent appearing/passed with Mathematics as a subject of exam
  • 10+3 Diploma (any stream) passed/appearing, after ten years of schooling with mathematics as compulsory subject of examination
  • Secured at least 50% marks in 10+2 or equivalent examination with Mathematics as one of the subjects
  • 10+3 Diploma in any stream recognised by Central/State Government with at least 50% aggregate marks in Mathematics
  • Having Dimploma in International Baccalaureate appearing/passed, after ten years of schooling with at least 50% in aggregate with Mathematics as the compulsory subject of examination
  • Admission

Candidates who qualify NATA are eligible for admission to B.Arch course offered by Architecture institutions acorss India.

  • Exam Format

NATA is a 3-hour long exam which is divided into two parts, both having 90 minutes each. There is no negative marking.

  • Part A consists of multiple choice questions with twenty question related to Mathematics of two marks each, and a total of forty questions related to General Aptitude also of two marks. Hence, Part A carries a total of 120 marks.
  • Part B is the Drawing Test. The primary motive of this is to test the candidate’s drawing skills, creativity, imagination and observation skills. In addition to this, the candidate’s sense of perspective and proportion is also evaluated. Each answer given by the candidates in the drawing paper is examined by more than one examiner independently, and the marks are then averaged.
  • Qualifying NATA

Minimum 25% must be secured in Part A, i.e. 30 out of 120. Minimum 25% must be secured in Part B, i.e. 20 out of 80. Overall qualifying marks are based on post-exam statistics and are at the discretion of the Council.

  • Application Procedure

To apply for the exam, the candidate must visit the online portal and fill the online application form available there. The candidate must provide all the necessary documents as well as details that are demanded on the form and pay the application fee of INR 1250 through online mode.

  • Syllabus for NATA

Mathematics: The questions are from the areas of Algebra, Logarithms, Matrices, Trigonometry, Coordinate Geometry, 3-Dimensional Co-ordinate Geometry, Theory of Calculus, Application of Calculus, Permutation and Combination, Statistics and Probability

General Aptitude: The candidate’s mental ability (numerical, visual, and verbal), analytical reasoning, general awareness of national/international architects and famous architectural creations is tested in this part of the exam. Also, Mathematical Reasoning as well as Sets and relations are to be studied in detail.

Drawing Test: It is important for the candidate to understand the scale of the proportion of objects, geometric composition, shape, building forms and elements, aesthetics, color texture, harmony and contrast. perspective drawing, sketching of urban space and landscape, everyday life objects like furniture, equipment, etc., from memory. It includes both Geometric and Abstract pattern drawing, form transformations in 2D and 3D like subtraction, union, rotation, surfaces, and volumes, generating plan, elevation and 3D views of objects.

  • Some Colleges or Institutes that participate in NATA:
  • SRM University, Chennai
  • Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Shibpur
  • Deenbandhu Chhotu Ram University of Science and Technology, Murthal
  • AU College of Engineering, Vishakhapatnam
  • Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University, Delhi
  • ITM University, Gwalior
  • Ansal University, Gurgaon
  • KIIT University, Bhubaneswar
  • Bharath University, Chennai
  • Vismayam College of Art and Media, Kerala
  • Sir J. J. College of Architecture, Mumbai
  • Department of Architecture, IIT Roorkee
  • Chandigarh College of Architecture, Chandigarh
  • Department of Architecture, NIT Tiruchirapalli
  • Department of Architecture, NIT Calicut
  • Sushant School of Art and Architecture, Gurgaon
  • Faculty of Architecture & Ekistics, JMI, Delhi
  • Department of Architecture, BIT, Mersa
  • R V School of Architecture, RVCE, Bangalore
  • Hindustan University, Kelambakkam
  • Sharda University, Greater Noida
  • CEPT University, Ahmedabad
  • BS Abdur Rahman University, Chennai

Hope you now have a clear understanding of the National Aptitude Test in Architecture. It is a crucial exam conducted at National Level to attract bright aspirants into studying Architecture and providing the candidates with a window to all well-recognised architecture institutes in India.